THE light and airy SPONGE CAKE

These sweet ambassadors from Bern are the edible counterpart to the Bernese heraldic animal and – just like the former town guard – the «protectors» of the city of Bern. Read on to learn about the slightly tongue in cheek history of the Bernese almond bear.

The origin of the Bernese almond bear dates back to the year 1596, as ....

... the inspiration for the creation of the Bernese almond bear was the traditional relief decoration which shows the bears dancing around the hour bell of the Church of the Holy Ghost (Heiliggeistkirche), cast in the year 1596. The symbol of parading bears, which symbolises the former town guard, is also found at the Zytgloggenturm.

However at that time of course no almond bears were being made. Not even at the time of our next milestone, as we make a leap in time from the end of the Middle Ages to the time of the French Revolution, when ...

... in 1798 French revolutionary forces invaded Switzerland. There was little resistance, Bern alone tried to resist the occupation. The Bernese troops were decisively defeated in March 1798 at the Battle of Grauholz. The French Revolutionary Army soldiers christened the three living Bernese bears in the Bear Pit with the names of patricians and led them in a humiliating triumphal procession through a defeated Bern. In 1798 when the French led the bears out of Bern, they did not yet know that these would become an export hit almost 200 years later ...

Mandelbaerliformen

... because 191 years later, and this much is known already, the first Bernese almond bear was produced. But one by one, and this continued up until the late 19th century, then ...

... for the first time metal molds were used and were filled with chocolate. Around 1870 Friedrich Anton Reiche founded a factory for plating tin in Dresden. Reiche's chocolate molds are some of the most famous in the world and today are collector's items. Looking at order books from the years 1906 to 1914 it is clear that all the big confectionery manufacturers were customers of Anton Reiche – e.g. Lindt, Suchard and Tobler in Switzerland.

The actual concept of the Bernese almond bear dates back to Anton Reiche's first chocolate bear mold from the year 1914, because ...

... when 75 years later the baker's Glatz Confiseur AG, celebrated their 125th company anniversary in 1989, they naturally wanted to create a new and very special product to celebrate this occasion. At the same time they came across these old chocolate bear molds and the master confectioner's brilliant idea was to fill these molds with a cake mixture instead of chocolate and subsequently to bake them.

Mandelbaerliformen Generation

The bakers and confectioners at Glatz created – under the leadership of master confectioner Peter Kollöffel – the light and airy Bernese almond bears, which are now available in 12 flavours : original vanilla (gluten and lactose free available too), chocolate, Irish cream, cappuccino, blueberry, pistachio, honey, coconut, chestnut, strawberry and Christmas cinnamon.

Over the years not only the flavours of the almond bears have been continuously refined, but also the bear molds have been adapted and optimised, until we now have today's almond bear shape.

 

EXPORT HIT SINCE 1789

A few milestones in the history of the 'Mandelbärli'

1914 The first bear mold was produced by Anton Reiche.
1989 The Glatz confectioners, under the leadership of Master Confectioner Peter Kollöffel , develop the Bernese almond bear for the Glatz anniversary.
1999 The first custom-branded trolley bus (Line 12) in the City of Bern - Mandelbärli Express- passes through the centre of Bern's old town every day, so almond bears are advertised for a whole year.
2002 Almond bears were for sale as officially licensed EXPO 02 baked goods.
2013 Formation of Berner Mandelbärli AG

HOW CAN YOU BUY OUR DELICIOUS ALMOND BEARS?

Find out here where you can buy freshly-baked Bernese almond bears. Of course it is also possible to order them directly from our e-shop.

Business clients who want to buy our Bernese almond bears can directly order them on account by sending a mail to kontakt@mandelbaerli.ch dietro fattura.

Almond bears can be found in various places. Of course in all the Glatz stores, from our colleagues at Bäckerei Reinhard and in Coop in the Bern region as well as these locations in the city of Bern: Globus, Loeb, Zytglogge kiosk, Bärli kiosk. Would you like them to be sent directly to you? Then order from the comfort of your home from the «Mandelbärli-Shop».

 

BUSINESS CLIENTS

Our popular Bernese almond bears make a great gift. Are you looking for a customised and exclusive present for your customers, employees or business partner? Or do you need a cute and delicious ambassador for your company logo?

Design our almond bears according to your wish. This is the standard offer for companies:

Minimum order: 100 pieces

Delivery time: minimum 2 weeks after receiving your order.

We would be happy to advise you about other possibilities. Please contact us on the following number +41 31 300 41 41 or by email: kontakt@mandelbaerli.ch

 

Mandi MAKES FRIENDS

Mandi findet Freunde

MANDI findet Freunde

24 pages, illustrated, bound
ISBN 978-3-033-05526-1
CHF 20.50

This children's book is available in every Beck Glatz Bakery/Confectionery store and in 'Chinderbuechlade Bern'.

Website Mandi

CONTACT US

Please don't hesitate to contact us. If you have any questions or wish to place a large order, our team are ready to assist you.

+41 31 300 41 41
kontakt@mandelbaerli.ch
Berner Mandelbärli AG
Weyermannsstrasse 24
3000 Berne 5

Loading Content ...

le biscuit MOELLEUX ET AÉRÉ

Les « Mandelbärli », les doux ambassadeurs de Berne, sont le pendant culinaire de l’animal héraldique bernois et – comme l’ancienne garde municipale – les « protecteurs » de la ville de Berne. Vous découvrirez ci-après, avec un brin d’humour, toute l’histoire de l’ourson aux amandes bernois.

L’origine de l’ourson aux amandes bernois remonte à l’an 1596. En effet ...

... la traditionnelle ronde des ours en relief qui orne la cloche marquant les heures de l’église du Saint-Esprit moulée en 1596 a inspiré la création de l’ourson aux amandes bernois. On trouve également la ronde des ours, qui symbolise l’ancien guet, à la Tour de l’Horloge.

Mais bien sûr, à cette époque, on ne produisait pas encore d’oursons aux amandes. Et pas non plus dans les prochains chapitres de notre histoire. En fait, nous allons faire un saut dans le temps, de la fin du Moyen-âge jusqu’à l’époque de la Révolution française, au cours de laquelle ...

... les groupes révolutionnaires français entrèrent en Suisse en 1798. La résistance fut restreinte, seule Berne essaya de s’opposer à l’occupation. Les troupes bernoises furent définitivement battues en mars 1798 lors de la bataille de Grauholz. Dans la Fosse aux Ours, les soldats de la République révolutionnaire de France baptisèrent les trois ours bernois du nom de patriciens et les entraînèrent dans un défilé triomphant à travers la Berne vaincue. Alors que les Français entraînèrent les ours hors de Berne en 1798, ils ne savaient pas encore que près de 200 ans plus tard, ils deviendraient l’un des produits les plus exportés de Suisse ...

Mandelbaerliformen

... car, 191 ans plus tard, et nous n’en dirons pas plus, le premier ourson aux amandes fut produit. Mais une chose après l’autre, et donc, à la fin du 19e siècle, donc ...

... à l’époque, on utilisa pour la première fois des formes en métal pour mouler du chocolat. Friedrich Anton Reiche créa dans les années 1870 un atelier de fabrication de moules en étain à Dresde. Les moules à chocolat de Reiche font désormais partie des plus célèbres du monde et sont devenus des pièces de collection. Sur les livres de commandes des années 1906 à 1914, on constate que tous les grands confiseurs étaient des clients d’Anton Reiche – p. ex. Lindt, Suchard et Tobler en Suisse.

L’invention effective de l’ourson aux amandes bernois remonte aux premiers moules à chocolat en forme d’ours d’Anton Reiche de 1914, car ...

... quand la société Beck Glatz Confiseur fêta 75 ans plus tard, à savoir en 1989, son 125e anniversaire, on voulut bien sûr créer à cette occasion un produit nouveau et original. C’est là qu’on tomba à nouveau sur ces anciens moules à chocolat en forme d’ours, et l’idée géniale des maîtres pâtissiers fut de remplacer le chocolat par une pâte à gâteau et de passer les oursons au four.

Mandelbaerliformen Generation

Les pâtissiers de Glatz développèrent ainsi – sous la responsabilité du maître pâtissier Peter Kollöfel - l’ourson aux amandes, délicieux et aéré, qui est désormais disponible en 12 arômes : Original Vanille (existe également sans gluten et sans lactose), chocolat, Irish Cream, citron, cappuccino, myrtille, pistache, miel, noix de coco, marron, fraise et Noël (à la cannelle).

Pendant des décennies, les arômes des oursons aux amandes ne furent pas les seuls à constamment évoluer, les moules aussi n’ont cessé d’être adaptés et optimisés jusqu’à donner naissance à la forme actuelle de l’ourson aux amandes.

 

HIT À l’exportation depuis 1789

Quelques étapes de l’histoire de l’ourson aux amandes

1914 Les premiers moules en forme d’ours sont fabriqués par Anton Reiche.
1989 Sous la responsabilité du maître pâtissier Peter Kollöfell, les pâtissiers de Glatz développent l’ourson aux amandes bernois à l’occasion de l’anniversaire de Glatz.
1999 Le premier trolleybus décoré (ligne 12) de Berne circule comme « Mandelbärli-Express » dans la vieille ville et fait un an durant la promotion de l’ourson aux amandes.
2002 L’ourson aux amandes est vendu à l’EXPO 02 en tant que biscuit officiellement homologué.
2013 Création de la société Berner Mandelbärli AG

oÙ trouver les dÉlicieux oursons aux amandes

Vous découvrirez ici où vous pouvez acheter les oursons aux amandes bernois tout frais. Vous pouvez bien sûr les commander directement dans notre boutique.

La clientèle entreprise peut commander sur compte directement par mail à kontakt@mandelbaerli.ch.

On trouve les oursons aux amandes aux endroits les plus divers. Tu nous trouveras bien sûr dans toutes les filiales Glatz, chez nos collègues de la boulangerie Reinhard et à la Coop dans la région de Berne ainsi qu’à d’autres endroits à Berne : Globus, Loeb, kiosque Zytglogge, kiosque Bärli. Nous devons arriver directement chez toi ? Alors commande tranquillement depuis chez toi par le biais de la boutique.

 

ClientÈle entreprises

Bien sûr, nos oursons aux amandes si populaires constituent aussi de super cadeaux. Vous cherchez un cadeau personnalisé et exclusif pour vos clients, votre personnel ou vos partenaires commerciaux ? Ou vous avez besoin d’un ambassadeur sympathique et délicieux pour votre logo d’entreprise ?

Personnalisez vos oursons aux amandes selon vos souhaits. Il existe les offres standards suivantes pour les entreprises :

Quantité minimale par commande : 100 pièces

Délai de livraison : au moins 2 semaines à réception de la commande

C’est avec plaisir que nous vous conseillerons personnellement quant à d’autres possibilités. Contactez-nous par téléphone au +41 31 300 41 41 ou par email à kontakt@mandelbaerli.ch

 

MANDI TROUVE DES AMIS

Mandi findet Freunde

MANDI findet Freunde

24 pages, illustré, relié
ISBN 978-3-033-05526-1
20,50 CHF

Ce livre pour enfants est disponible dans toutes les filiales de Beck Glatz Confiseur et au Chinderbuechlade à Berne.

Site web de Mandi

PRENEZ CONTACT

Nous sommes à votre disposition pour toutes demandes. Si vous avez des questions ou voulez passer une grosse commande, notre équipe est là pour vous.

+41 31 300 41 41
kontakt@mandelbaerli.ch
Berner Mandelbärli AG
Weyermannsstrasse 24
3000 Berne 5

Chargement du contenu ...